A Market Affair-y-tale (with updated pictures)

by founditonapostednote

A stand at the Farmer's Market

In quest of something to satisfy my creative appetite and attraction to the fresh, spring-like weather, I went to the Farmer’s Market in Dallas.  I had never been, and I am glad I went.  There, my senses gained a heightened perspective, sort of similar to what it feels like when, after a few stubborn moments of boycott, you finally decide to put those terribly awkward 3-d goggles on at the movies.

As I scrutinized the market’s venue, I noticed how the colorful, vine vegetables and fruits harmoniously contrasted amongst the earth-like tones of their groundling counterparts.  The abundance of farm-fresh produce inspired me to feel awakened as it mesmerized me out of my winter-like slumber.

I came across a rotunda-sized sweet potato that was as large as my intrigued eyes.  Although I opted for the strawberries, baby eggplants, and avocados, I cannot get those sweet potatoes out of my head:

Sweet Potatoes at Farmer's Market, taken by me and J-rod

I keep thinking about how I will go back next weekend for them so I can make my delicious, garlic-sweet-potato-fries recipe (which I ended up doing, and posted pics below).

This is a flexible recipe, which you can adjust the INGREDIENTS according to like, I usually play-it-by ear and eye-measure everything:

3 Sweet potatoes

4 cloves of garlic

1 and 1/2tsp turmeric or curry powder

1tsp fresh ground black pepper (or just crank out a few grinds)

1/4 cup olive oil (or you can melt some unsalted butter)

1 tsp paprika

1 large, sharp, smooth-edged knife

1 mortar and pestle

In a snapshot, this is a generalization of what the ingredients/tools should look like (minus a few of the essentials):

ingredients/tools needed (minus the potato, oven, and microwave). (taken by j-rod).

Directions:

Above all, preheat oven to 425 degrees

Part I-Coating:

Detach three garlic cloves (or more, if you like ) and peel.

Pound them with the mortar and pestle, until completely mashed.

In a large, glass bowl add the olive oil, garlic, pepper, curry powder (or turmeric), and paprika.  Mix together with a spoon.

spices enough for one, large sweet potato and one reg potato

Part II- Sweet Potatoes:

Microwave the sweet potatoes for about 2 minutes and 30 seconds (you want them a little soft, but not too soft), and then again for another 45 seconds.

Place them on a cutting board, on their sides.  Keep the skin on.

Stab  the middle of the knife onto the sweet potato in a way that will allow you to get two even sides.

Place  your dominate hand on the handle and the other on the top, non-sharp edge of the knife, which should be longer than the length of the potato.

See-saw the knife through the potato until it is cut in half.

Put the flesh side of the potato down on the cutting board.

Make cuts length-wise down the potato.  (you can make wedges, and re-cut the wedges to make them thinner). Repeat this process with the other potatoes.

 

Part III-The Union:

Toss the sweet potatoes in the bowl, and mix/tousle around with your washed hands.  If this is not enough oil to coat, or spices, then add more.

lathered up

Line the potatoes along a foil-laced cookie sheet, or you can use a Pyrex.

a mix of sweet and idaho potatoes

Cook for about 20-25minutes,or until crispy or limp enough for you, making sure to flip the potatoes once.

Let cool for a few minutes.

Part IV- When things get salty:

Top off with goat cheese and Louisiana Hot Sauce.

I developed this recipe after an encounter with sweet potatoes at the movie theater.  Although the movie theater ones did not have a lot of flavor, they tasted more wholesome than the regular potato fries.   After I stumbled across Gordon Biersch, an OKAY restaurant with amazing garlic french fries, I got some more ideas—add as much garlic as possible.   In order to enhance the healthier attribute of the sweet potato, and to help my dad with his high blood pressure, I opted for no-salt ingredients, some of which have anti-inflammatory properties: turmeric  powder, paprika, olive oil, and of course—crazy amounts of garlic.

It’s funny how I am more inspired now than ever to get in the kitchen and whip up some of my favorites rather than dine out.  There’s a thrill in the idea of saving money and knowing I can make it better–as in the way I like it.  And there’s something special about creating a work of art from the simple and natural medium that fresh produce is.

What’s your favorite sweet potato recipe?

*Also, I noticed that one of my favorites, SecretMenu, has a recipe for Yams (although, some may argue that the term yam is used interchangeably to describe sweet potatoes).  Check that one out for additional ideas.

