When Spring Has Sprung

by founditonapostednote

Spring has sprung, but I have noticed that many people are in a fall-back funk.  They are stuck in a season that’s somewhere lost between the dark, colder months, and the crisp, airier characteristics of the current environment.  It has caused them to hibernate when they should be on a quest for buttercups and butterflies in the bright, blossoming meadows that have melted into the spots that were once covered with snow.  I, too, have been under this hypnotically enabling spell until recently. 

There could be a number of factors that contributed to this steadfast haze of going nowhere.  For instance, I feel like in the seasons of fall and winter, I tend to want more.  I’m not sure if it creates a sense of warmth, but there is a need to have my surroundings in a festive, packed, and full mode.  I like to hold onto things during this time.  However, when spring arrives, the focus is on space, emptying, and clearing up so I can feel lightness in order to have clairvoyance in my life.  I feel a desire to shed winter, from its garb to any pounds, and wear spring everywhere I go.  But first, I have to let go.  Sometimes, that takes a lot of energy.  For me, I felt that I couldn’t quite purge myself of  winter’s remnants.  In my closet, in my room, everywhere, there were decorations, colors, and clothing items reminiscent of winter.

And everyone else in this funk feels annoyed with the weight, clothes, mindset and relationships they are holding onto from the seasons passed.  We are congested by the clutter that accumulates our lives.  When I say clutter, I don’t necessarily mean material things.  There are different aspects of clutter that we can hoard.  For example, a TLC reality show on hoarding, documented the lives of individuals who were “buried alive” by the material things that flooded their homes.  In the show, people were literally hoarding  junk.  Maybe at one point those things meant something, served a purpose when initially purchased, but never came into fruition. Instead, the items became lost among the other forgotten items and formed mounds of suffocating junk– inert of purpose and function. 

For many of us, our clutter or junk  is in the form of dreams, or relationships, or issues.  Things that we want to pursue, if left aside, or lumped into a pile, just sit there and waste.  The hoarders in the show I mentioned had their troves of junk in front of them, swallowing space, burying them alive.  Instead of being in front of us, our metaphorical piles accumulate in our minds and souls.  They become a huge weight that wanes on our conscious, energy, and potential.

What I found interesting is that some of the hoarders could not remember why they kept a lot of the stuff in the piles.  They used to know, but couldn’t remember.  Similarly, when you hoard your aspirations, thoughts, and emotions, instead of using them, you start to forget the purpose behind them.  For instance, you may forget why you took your job–was it supposed to be temporary, or is this your life goal?  To prevent this, you should inquire about the genuine motives behind what you do.  Instead of throwing them in a pile, sort through them, and remember what you wanted out of each.  If you don’t know, let it go, and then be inspired by what really speaks to you.  This could be in regards to relationships, ideas, business pursuits, life goals—anything.   If, after cleaning up your pile, you find that there is nothing that fits your current life style, either change your life style, or find something new that will be of use.  Because the truth is, you can’t live completely empty, devoid of emotion, inspiration, and the like.

Like the hoarders in the show, I had to let go of some things.  For starters, I had to let go of a friendship that was basically lifeless.  I realized I was gaining only negative energy from hoarding the skeleton of what remained.  Instead of using that pointless energy, I gave it a proper burial, made peace, and moved on.  Maybe there will be a place for it later, when it has reincarnated into the life that it used to be, but for now, I could focus on the relationships that have symbiotic energies.

I also cleaned out excess material baggage (I will probably touch on this in another post).  This was the easiest and most obvious form of a cathartic process for me.  I cleaned out my closet and donated many items.  I also sold my clothes to Plato’s Closet and used the proceeds as donation money for Japan.  That task in itself– acknowledging that I could do something to help people– made me feel light, airy, and ready to spring forward into the dawn of a new season.

