Summertime Reruns

by founditonapostednote


When I was a kid, I dreaded summertime because there was nothing to watch on TV.  Everything was a rerun.  Now, I sort of like reruns.  It’s nice to watch repeats because I do not anticipate the unknown.  Instead, I already know what has happened.  I can watch with a different perspective, and I can pick up on clues that I didn’t see beforehand.   Or, at the very least, a rerun can simply serve as a refresher.

I don’t only do this with TV shows.  I also employ this practice with movies, books, and magazine articles.  So now I am using this philosophy with blog posts.  I am going to “rerun” an old post: Tip Drill.   This post is about tipping conventions.  I bring this post back from the vault because with our economy still in a recession, we must be consciousness of our practices and contributions.  We should note that many people depend on our tips to raise their families.  However, we should also consider that tips should correspond with our service experiences.  Thus, it is necessary to understand the conventions of tipping, which Tip Drill explains.

In order to spruce the topic up a bit, I  have since re-investigated the tipping scene and brought in nail, salon, and spa services.  Many people do not know what an appropriate tip amount is for these areas of the service industry.  Thus, I contacted several relevant places and inquired about their tipping conventions.  Two Responded: Nail Bar, which mainly focuses on nails, and Artistic Salon Spa, which incorporates massages, spa services, and hair services.  Nail Bar informed me that 20-25% was appropriate, and Artistic Salon Spa recommended 15%-20%.

Below are their actual responses:

Nail Bar:

In response to your question, a standard tip for nail services is generally %20-25. For example, most people tip $3-4 for our regular manicure (a cost of $17), and $7 is the usual tip for our regular pedicure (a cost of $35).

Sincerely,

Communications Manager
Nail Bar & Trim

Artistic Salon Spa:

Typically clients tip around 15-20 % of the service price. However, the amount is ultimately up to the client and what they feel is appropriate.
Thank you,

Artistic Salon Spa.

So there you have it.  Personally, I always tip 20% at minimum, if service is as it should be.  When someone is even a hairline above that, I will tip 25%.  If it is sort of just mediocre, I will tip 15%.  If someone is blatantly crummy, I will still tip 15%; however, I will complain to the manager or write corporate (as mentioned in Tip Drill).  Most of the time, if you do complain, you can get coupons!  So if there really is a problem, I encourage everyone to be proactive so that management or the company can retrain staff.   But please, please do not stiff someone of a tip, unless that person is being completely egregious.

