Put It in (hand)Writing

by founditonapostednote

Hand Written Lincoln Note from: http://www.picturehistory.com

Sure.  It’s cleaner, easier to read, and shows people you, or someone you know/hired, can type.  The  preceding sentence refers to a type-written letter or email.  I’m not discounting all type-written letter or emails.  But some of them I am.

What is your reaction to receiving a  typed letter from someone? Does the font style make any difference to you?   What about if it is in handwriting?  And does ugly or pretty handwriting, print or cursive, have varied impacts on you?

To me, type-written letters seem like an after thought.  Something you almost forgot to remember to do.  They are cliché just like saying that the word cliché is cliché .

So, in fundraising, I made a decision (I sounds all executive-like and important)  to send donors and corporations hand-written thank you letters (notoriously referenced as TKU letters around our office, which I hate because I keep saying it like TinkU.).  Even after I’ve sent a  TKU email, a TKU  typed letter with IRS language,  thanking them for  a donation or their interest, I still send out a handwritten TKU (you are saying it like TinkU now, aren’t you?). It is when I send out the handwritten note that I get the greatest feedback.  Meaning, I get noticed.  I am no longer lumped with the other organizations that send out template TKUS.  For me and the donor/potential donor, things just got personal.  And that is a good thing.

For instance, I recently had a company personally call me after receiving a note that I hand wrote, thanking them for a contribution.  The whole team was so grateful to see how appreciative we were.  So appreciative that they wanted to host a fundraising event for us.  Writing that thank you somehow conveyed my message across more effectively than an email or letter inscribed with sans-serif/serif type font (I’m sure it could have had a little to do with the charm of my fifth-grader-like handwriting).

So, if you are looking for ways to show your genuine thanks, I suggest handwriting over type writing.  Though it may not be appropriate for every TKU venue, in terms of fundraising,  and thanking friends for gifts, or guests for attending events, I think it is.  I’m not saying it is the Gossip Truth.   But it is something close to it.

Here are some cool stationery selections I came across to help you kickstart your new hand-writing TKUs commitment.  I am also conveniently out of stationery, so I will be selecting some as well.  I have pared the choices down to three.  Which one do you like best?

1. From Jack & Ella Paper Press ($10 for 12): http://www.etsy.com/listing/60773066/your-very-own-personalized-notecards-set2. From Jack & Ella Paper Press ($12 for 8)

2. Kate Spade: http://www.katespade.com/monogram-note-cards/paper-monogram-note-cards,default,sc.html  (apparently we are not allowed to share their pics).  Price is $26 for 10 (cray, I know).

